Poppy robot with arduino and adafruit 16-channel motorcontroller

hello every one
I modify poppy robot design to use FR0115M RC servo motor and use Arduino UNO with Adafruit-16-channel-PWM-Servo-Shield
this photos are my new poppy

8 Likes

Your project is very interesting and your Poppy is very funny, I like its smile and socks very much !
I don’t understand what are the plastic pipes behind its back, can you explain ?

I also would like to make a robot with Arduino Uno, but I’m a beginner in this field. My project is only at the beginning and I would be happy to learn from people like you.

What price did it cost you, please ?

For my project, I intended to use only 5 servos (for the head, the shoulder and the top of the legs), but it seems to be cheaper to buy 10 FR0115M RC servo motors for 100 $ than one by one !

I also want a smaller and simpler robot (lower cost and also easier to realise and to keep in my small apartment) but I don’t know exactly what servomotors would be best.
In this case, I don’t know if I need the same shield as you, but I must admit it’s not very expansive.

Hello Animatrice_Epn
the plastic pipes behind it’s back are supported for weak parts of poppy
if you see the thigh part it find weak plastic in top part
i use Arduino UNO and adafruit 16-channel PWM/servo motor because it low cost and this Shield is high efficiency
the link product is : https://www.adafruit.com/products/1411
i use FR0115M RC servo motors its low cost but not accurate
the link product is : http://www.feetechrc.com/product/digital-servo/metal-gear-digital-servo-for-arduino-diy-robot-fr0115m/
1 motor = 10$
i use 23 servo motor in this project but this robot not balance
the best servo motor you can use it is Turnigy TGY-S518D
the link product is : http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/__41219__Turnigy_TGY_S518D_300_Digital_Metal_Gear_Intelligent_Robot_Servo_16_5kg_0_19S.html
this is good motor and cheaper

1 Like

Hello colleagues! I’m